The Education Committee established the Timely Topics Lecture in 1982 at the suggestion of Dr. Nathan Kaufman. It was initially conceived as a lecture by a prominent individual in the field of pathology to address a “timely topic” but has evolved into a sophisticated presentation, generally by a clinician or researcher, whose integrated relationship with pathology moves the discipline forward with contemporary ideas, innovative methods, and futuristic technology. This lecture is regarded as an honor within the USCAP sphere.

The lecturer should be well recognized and respected within the medical community, in general, and by the pathology community; he/she should be capable of giving a lucid and erudite lecture relating to topics of contemporary interest. The lecture is presented during the Annual Meeting of the Academy.

In 1999, the Executive Committee and Board of Directors of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology chose to honor Dr. Kaufman by renaming this lecture the Nathan Kaufman Timely Topics Lecture. This action was taken in recognition of his distinguished service and invaluable contributions to the Academy, including: prolonged service as first full-time Secretary-Treasurer of USCAP; founding Assistant Editor of Laboratory Investigation and founding Editor of Modern Pathology; institution of the Diagnostic Pathology Course; facilitation of separate incorporation of USCAP and establishment of its Bylaws; formulation of guidelines and procedures for Companion Societies meetings; supervision of lot purchase and construction of a permanent office building for the Academy; establishment of policies and procedures for operations, objectives for educational offerings and terms of reference for the various committees.

Selection process: The Nathan Kaufman Timely Topics Lecturer is chosen by the President-Elect and approved by the Executive Committee at its Interim Meeting.

The Academy provides:

        – An honorarium in the amount of $5,000

        – Complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting

Rachael Relph, PhD

2022 Nathan Kaufman Timely Topics Lecture

Rachael is the Chief Sustainability Officer at My Green Lab, a non-profit organization dedicated to building a culture of sustainability in science. Rachael partners with organizations around the world to build tools and resources that support laboratory sustainability and help accelerate the adoption of best practices. Through education, engagement programs, and certifications, Rachael and My Green Lab are inspiring and supporting scientists as they advance sustainability at the bench. Rachael has a PhD in chemistry from Yale University and led Design for Environment and Sustainability initiatives for Life Technologies and Thermo Fisher Scientific. On weekends and holidays Rachael enjoys camping, biking or hiking with her family and friends. One day she hopes to hike the entire Pacific Crest Trail from Mexico to Canada.

Previous Honorees

2021 Timothy Stenzel
2020 Samuel H. Sternberg
2019 Jeroen A.W.M. van der Laak
2018 H. Gilbert Welch
2017 Daniel J. Brat
2016 Eric F. Glassy
2015 Otis W. Brawley
2014 Arul Chinniyan
2013 Christopher Crum
2012 Bogdan Czerniak
2011 Guillermo J. Teamey
2010 Anthony Atala
2009 Todd Golub
2008 Frank McKeon
2007 Steven L. Kunkel
2006 Tyler Jacks
2005 Phillip Sharp
2004 David H. Walker
2003 Irving L. Weissman
2002 Lance Liotta
2001 James Madera
2000 Peter M. Howley
1999 Anthony S. Fauci
1998 David Korn
1997 Raymond White
1996 Anthony Epstein
1995 Eric Stanbridge
1994 Francis Collins
1993 Judah Folkman
1992 French Anderson
1991 Stanley Cohen
1990 Philip Leder
1989 Jay Levy
1988 Cecilia Fenoglio-Preiser
1987 Ronald Weinstein
1986 James Curran
1985 Robert Leader
1984 Arthur Upton &
Robert Squire
1983 Edwin Ewing &
Thomas Spira