The Florabel G. Mullick Travel Award was established in 2015 to honor the memory of Florabel García Mullick, M.D., ScD, F.C.A.P. The award was funded by friends and family of Dr. Mullick and ensures that pathologists from under-served countries can attend the USCAP Annual Meeting with a travel grant of $2,500 or more.

Dr. Mullick was a Diplomate of The American Board of Pathology in Anatomic Pathology and a distinguished graduate of the Senior Executive Program at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. In 1992, she was awarded the prestigious rank of Meritorious Executive by the President of the United States. In 1993 and 1999, she received the Distinguished Executive Award, the highest honor bestowed on a civilian in the US federal government. Her visionary support and tireless efforts in establishing a Telepathology Program at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology led to the formal dedication in 2005 of “The Florabel G. Mullick, M.D., Video teleconference Center.”

In 2007 Dr. Mullick became the first civilian Director of the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology. In 2008 Dr. Mullick was elected President of the International Academy of Pathology. Each year USCAP honors the contributions and memory of Dr. Mullick with the Florabel G. Mullick Travel Award.

Zeeshan Ansar Ahmed, MBBS, FCPS, PG Diploma in CHS & Mol Path (UK)

2023 Florabel G. Mullick Travel Award

Dr. Zeeshan Ansar is currently serving as Assistant Professor, Section Head Molecular Pathology,

At the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, The Aga Khan University Hospital, Karachi, Pakistan. His accolades include, over 15 years of experience in clinical service and laboratory diagnostics, he is recipient of numerus national and international awards and has published numerous peer reviewed articles and book chapters.

Dr Zeeshan completed his MBBS from Dow Medical College, Pakistan in 1999. Following his graduation, in 2011 he embarked on a residency program in Hematology from the National Institute of Blood Disease and Bone Marrow Transplantation, Pakistan and obtained his FCPS in Hematology in 2013. On Completion of his training in FCPS, in 2013, he started training as a fellow in Molecular Pathology; Aga Khan University and was awarded fellowship in 2014. He then joined the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine as an Assistant Professor in 2015 having previously also served in the Middle East working as Clinical practitioner in Semah Medical Centre, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

His professional development accolades include, completing PG Diploma in Molecular Pathology and Clinical Health Sciences from New Castle University, UK (2018), observer ship training at MD Anderson Cancer Centre in Feb 12th to 24th 2016, Awarded “Faculty Development Award” 2017, Department of Pathology, The Aga Khan University and received certificate of achievement in HMX Harvard Medical School Course on Genetic Testing and Sequencing Technology & Cancer Genomics/Precision Oncology 2022. He been a recipient of numerous international travel awards, namely, poster presentation and participation Grant on EACR conference Precision Medicine for Cancer 1-4th March 2015, SAARC federation of oncology Prof. Ab Karim Saheb (Late) Memorial Gold medal and PSCO ONCO – 2015 conference in CPSP Karachi, Pakistan, Travel Award for ESMO Asia 16-19 December 2016 Congress, Awarded scholarship by Newcastle Molecular Pathology node for PG Diploma in Clinical Health Science & Molecular Pathology, University of Newcastle upon Tyne (UK), 2016, AMP International Molecular Pathology Award for Conference Travel (IMPACT)” AMP 2017 Global Congress on Molecular Pathology, Berlin Germany, April 3-5, 2017, Travel Award for ISLH 2019 Meeting, Vancouver, Canada Berend Houwen, poster presentation, Travel Award for The American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics ASHI Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida 2021 and Travel Award for The American Society for Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics ASHI Annual Meeting in Las Vegas 2022

His efforts have resulted in establishing the Molecular Pathology Laboratory at the Aga Khan University Hospital as the leading Molecular Genetics Service Lab in Pakistan and the region, an accomplishment rewarded by achieving College of American Pathologist (CAP) Re-accreditation in 2017, 2019, 2022 and Joint Commission International Re-accreditation in 2018, 2021.

I strongly believe “Success is often achieved by those who don’t know that failure is inevitable.” And “Do the best you can until you know better”

Previous Award Recipients


2022 Erisa Kola
2021 No award given.
(virtual meeting)
2020 Marie Claire Ndayisaba
2019 Gerardo Vides Almonacid
2018 Sofía Cañete-Portillo

2017 Maria Frances Bukelo
2016 Ann Margaret V. Chang