The Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award was established in 2015 by the generous support of Dr. L. Clarke Jr. and Elaine F. Stout. This award will ensure that pathologists endeavoring to resolve scientific medical problems by studying anatomic features are supported and appreciated in perpetuity. The Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award will provide recognition and an award of $3,000 to an individual for the best English language peer-reviewed paper published during the twelve months preceding the application deadline, which resolved scientific medical problems by studying their anatomic features.

To apply for The Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award, applicants must complete the online application form and electronically submit the form along with a PDF reprint of the publication.

Applicants must be the first author of the publication. The selection is made by members of the Stout Award Committee. The Award will be presented on Saturday, March 19, 2022 during the USCAP Annual Meeting in Los Angeles, California.


Application deadline: Friday, October 11, 2019


Ying-Hsia Chu, MD

2021 Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award
Dr. Chu received her medical degree from the National Taiwan University. She first developed an interest in oncologic molecular diagnostics while working as a visiting research intern at the Institution of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology (IBN) under the supervision of Dr. Min-Han Tan, then a Principal Research Scientist at IBN and currently CEO of Lucence Diagnostics. Her work at IBN focused on the pharmacogenetics of the tyrosine kinase inhibitor (TKI) therapy and developing genetic predictive models for the clinical outcome and TKI toxicities in renal cancer patients, leading to two publications in PLoS One and European Urology.

Dr. Chu then moved to the United States for an anatomic/clinical pathology residency at the University of Wisconsin in Madison, WI, where she worked with Dr. Ricardo V. Lloyd on elucidating the expression and clinical implications of non-coding RNAs in thyroid cancers. After completing residency, she moved to the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, where she was mentored by Drs. Peter M. Sadow, William C. Faquin and Vania Nose on studying the genetics of thyroid cancers. She was the lead author on two recently published papers on kinase fusion-driven thyroid carcinomas (KFTC) in Modern Pathology, which provided practical insights into the genomic landscape of KFTC with detailed correlations to TKI treatment response, resulting in the discovery of several novel genetic markers of TKI efficacy and resistance, as well as an algorithmic histomorphologic approach for microscopic triaging of cases for molecular testing.

Dr. Chu is currently a clinical fellow in Molecular Genetic Pathology at the Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center with ongoing projects in the development and validation of diagnostic molecular assays for solid and hematologic neoplasms.

Previous Award Recipients

2021 Ying-Hsia Chu
2020 Kirill A. Lyapichev
2019 Kanika Taneja
2018 Arnulf H. Koeppen

2017 Natalia Rush
2016 Nikhil Sangle
2015 Ming Jin