The Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award was established in 2015 by the generous support of Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout. This award will ensure that pathologists endeavoring to resolve scientific medical problems by studying their anatomic features are supported and appreciated in perpetuity. The Stout Award will provide recognition and an award of $3,000 to an individual for the best English language peer-reviewed paper published during the twelve months preceding the application deadline, which resolved scientific medical problems by studying their anatomic features.

To apply for the Stout Award, applicants must complete the application form available on the USCAP website and electronically submit the application form along with a reprint of the publication to the USCAP Foundation.

Applicants must be the first author of the publication. The Academy does not sponsor travel or hotel accommodations for this award. The selection is made by the Stout Award Committee.

Kirill A. Lyapichev, MD

2020 Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award

Dr. Lyapichev is currently an Advance Hematopathology Fellow at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center and fully expects to complete his training by July 2021.
His interest in pathology began during his first years of medical school. This interest pushed him from surgical internship to pursue a research career as a Postdoctoral fellow at Dr. Podack’s laboratory in the department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Miami. During these years, he studied the function of newly discovered Perforin member (Perforin 2). After his postdoctoral fellowship was completed, he continued his work under Dr. Lee at Miami Project to Cure Paralysis, where he studied the macrophage transcriptional profile after spinal cord injury. These years in basic research solidified his wish to come back into clinical medicine as a pathologist.
During his research years, he passed all American medical boards and was accepted to the pathology residency program at the University of Miami. After he finished his AP/CP residency and passed the pathology boards he was accepted into Hematopathology, Advance Hematopathology and Molecular Genetic Pathology fellowships at MD Anderson Cancer Center.

During the time he spent at MD Anderson Cancer Center he was exposed to Dr. Miranda’s work on breast implants associated ALCL and was honored to be involved in the several of his projects. Recently he published a paper in Modern Pathology: “A Proposal for Pathologic Processing of Breast Implant Capsules in Patients with Suspected Breast Implant Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma.” He has other research projects involving this rare lymphoma.

Additionally, he is interested and involved in other research projects including neoplastic as well as non-neoplastic entities: MALT lymphoma, Castleman Disease, Kikuchi Disease, and others.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Kanika Taneja
2018 Arnulf H. Koeppen

2017 Natalia Rush
2016 Nikhil Sangle
2015 Ming Jin