“Be daring, be different, be impractical…

…be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.” -Cecil Beaton

Current Sitting President

Julia A. Bridge

Julia A. Bridge, MD

Translational Genomics Research Institute / University of Nebraska Medical Center

Dr. Bridge is Professor at the Translational Genomics Research Institute (TGen)/Ashion (Director, Division of Molecular Pathology; Phoenix AZ) and the University of Nebraska Medical Center. Dr. Bridge earned her MD from the University of Nebraska Medical Center and completed her pathology residency at the University of Kansas Medical Center followed by clinical cytogenetic and molecular fellowships at the University of Nebraska Medical Center and the Southwest Biomedical Research Institute in Scottsdale Arizona. She is Past-President of the International Society for Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology. She serves or has served on editorial boards for pathology, orthopedic, and genetics journals, in consulting or advisory board positions for cancer networks and industry (including as key investigator for landmark FDA approvals for two novel gene-based tests), the national Children’s Oncology Group Soft Tissue Sarcoma and Ewing sarcoma committees, and Secretarial Appointee to the national Department of Veterans Affairs Genomic Medicine Program Advisory Committee. Dr. Bridge has been involved in USCAP in several capacities through teaching [short courses, long course, evening and companion courses as well as directing molecular special course, 14 years], moderating sessions, and committee/leadership appointments (Education Committee, USCAP Council, among others). She has published greater than 300 papers, chapters, review articles, digital and web-based materials, and is co-author or co-editor of several books (e.g. AFIP Atlas of Tumor Pathology; 4th Series, Fascicle 2: Tumors of the Bones and Joints and 4th edition of the WHO Classification of Tumours of Soft Tissue and Bone) and directs a research laboratory focused on molecular profiling of solid tumors and molecular test development. She is now the President of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology.

Past Presidents

2019-20 Joel K. Greenson
2018-19 Wendy L. Frankel
2017-18 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2016-17 N. Volkan Adsay
2015-16 John R. Goldblum
2014-15 Celeste N. Powers
2013-14 Jeffrey L. Myers
2012-13 Linda D. Ferrell
2011-12 Gregory N. Fuller
2010-11 Stuart J. Schnitt
2009-10 Richard J. Zarbo
2008-09 Victor R. Reuter
2007-08 Christopher P. Crum
2006-07 Henry D. Appelman
2005-06 Sylvia L. Asa
2004-05 Ricardo V. Lloyd

Past Presidents

2003-04 Virginia A. LiVolsi
2002-03 Louis P. Dehner
2001-02 Ronald DeLellis
2000-01 Deborah Powell
1999-00 Harvey Goldman
1998-99 Elaine S. Jaffe
1997-98 Sharon Weiss
1996-97 Richard Kempson
1995-96 William Gardner
1994-95 Hector Battifora
1993-94 Ramzi S. Cotran
1992-93 Peter A. Ward
1991-92 Costan W. Berard
1990-91 David F. Hardwick
1989-90 Cecilia Fenoglio-Preiser
1988-89 Ronald S. Weinstein
1987-88 Robert Leader
1986-87 John Yardley
1985-86 Robert McCluskey
1984-85 David M. Robertson
1983-84 F. Stephen Vogel
1982-83 Bernard M. Wagner
1981-82 Leland D. Stoddard
1980-81 Kenneth M. Earle
1979-80 William Hartmann
1978-79 Jack P. Strong
1977-78 Benjamin F. Trump
1976-77 Jack M. Layton
1975-76 Murray R. Abell
1974-75 Richard E. Palmer
1973-74 Nathan Kaufman
1972-73 F.K. Mostofi
1971-72 William Christopherson
1970-71 T.C. Jones
1969-70 Edward A. Gall
1968-69 Joshua L. Edwards
1967-68 Robert H. More
1966-67 A. James French
1965-66 Henry D. Moon
1964-65 David E. Smith
1963-64 J. Lowell Orbison
1962-63 John B. Hazard
1961-62 Benjamin Castleman
1960-61 F.W. Wiglesworth
1959-60 Robert E. Stowell
1958-59 Chapman H. Binford
1957-58 William O. Russell, Jr.
1956-57 Edward B. Smith
1955-56 Jesse E. Edwards
1954-55 Harold Stewart
1953-54 Averill A. Liebow
1952-53 James B. McNaught
1951-52 Granville A. Bennett
1950-51 G. Lyman Duff
1949-50 James E. Ash
1948-49 Everett L. Bishop
1947-48 Ralph D. Lillie
1942-47 Samuel R. Haythorn
1941-42 William H. Feldman
1940-41 Tracy B. Mallory
1941-42 William H. Feldman
1940-41 Tracy B. Mallory
1939-40 James E. Ash
1938-39 Carl V. Weller
1936-38 V. H. Cornell
1934-36 William Boyd
1933-34 Victor Jacobsen
1932-33 George R. Callender
1929-32 H. E. Robertson
1924-29 James F. Coupal
1922-24 F. B. Mallory
1921-22 James Ewing
1920-21W. M. L. Coplin
1918-19 O. Klotz
1916-18 A. S. Warthin
1914-16 Karl Aschoff
1912-13 R. M. Pearce
1910-11 A. S. Warthin
1908-09 W. G. MacCallum
1907 James Carroll