The F.K. Mostofi Award Distinguished Service Award was established in 1976 as a tribute to the long and distinguished service to the Academy given by Dr. Mostofi. The Award may be presented annually to a member of the Academy who has emulated Dr. Mostofi with outstanding service to USCAP and to the International Academy of Pathology.

The awardee is selected by the Board of Directors.

The Academy provides:

         – Complimentary registration to the Annual Meeting

Jason L. Hornick, MD, PhD

2023 F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Hornick received a BA from Amherst College and an MD/PhD from the University of Southern California. He trained as a resident in Anatomic Pathology and pursued subspecialty fellowships in soft tissue pathology and gastrointestinal pathology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, where he is the Director of Surgical Pathology and Immunohistochemistry. Dr. Hornick is a Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School and a consultant at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the 5th series of the AFIP fascicles. Dr. Hornick previously chaired the USCAP Education Committee, the USCAP Abstract Review Board and Assignment Committee, and the CAP Immunohistochemistry Committee and is currently on the USCAP Board of Directors. He has served on the USCAP Ramzi Cotran Young Investigator Award Committee and the Harvey Goldman Teaching Award Committee. Dr. Hornick has also served as Co-Director of the Diagnostic Pathology Update course; Coordinator for Soft Tissue Pathology Interactive Microscopy courses; and Moderator of the Bone and Soft Tissue Specialty Conference, the Surgical Pathology Specialty Conference, and Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology and Gastrointestinal Pathology platform sessions for the USCAP.

Dr. Hornick was a member of the expert editorial board for the 4th (2013) and 5th (2020) editions of the WHO Classification of Tumors of Soft Tissue and Bone. He serves on the Anatomic Pathology Test Development and Advisory Committee for the American Board of Pathology. Dr. Hornick was a member of the Soft Tissue Sarcoma Expert Panel for the AJCC and the Sarcoma Analysis Working Group for The Cancer Genome Atlas (TCGA). He is President-Elect of the Arthur Purdy Stout Society of Surgical Pathologists.

Dr. Hornick serves on 14 editorial boards, including the American Journal of Surgical Pathology and Modern Pathology. He is an Associate Editor for Sternberg’s Diagnostic Surgical Pathology, a Regional Editor for Histopathology, an Associate Editor for Advances in Anatomic Pathology and Virchows Archives, and the Consulting Editor for Surgical Pathology Clinics.

Dr. Hornick has published over 500 original papers, review articles, and book chapters and edits the textbook Practical Soft Tissue Pathology: A Diagnostic Approach, which is in its 2nd edition. He received the 2012 Arthur Purdy Stout Society of Surgical Pathologists Annual Prize and the 2014 Jack Yardley Investigator Award from the Gastrointestinal Pathology Society. Dr. Hornick sings and plays keyboards for a rock band.

Previous Award Recipients


2022 Rhonda K. Yantiss, MD
2021 Steven D. Billings
2020 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2019 Laura W. Lamps
2018 Stuart J. Schnitt
2017 John H. Sinard
2016 Julia A. Bridge
2015 Linda D. Ferrell
2014 Frederic G. Barr
2013 John R. Goldblum
2012 Celeste Powers
2011 Sylvia L. Asa
2010 James Crawford
2009 Jeffrey L. Myers
2008 Richard Fraser
2007 Victor E. Reuter
2006 Richard J. Zarbo
2005 Ronald A. DeLellis
2004 Donald A. Antonioli
2003 Elaine S. Jaffe
2002 Robert Pascal
2001 Virginia LiVolsi
2000 Fred G. Silva
1999 William A. Gardner
1998 Costan W. Berard
1997 Cecilia M. Fenoglio-Preiser
1996 Emanuel Rubin
1995 Harvey Goldman
1994 David Hardwick
1993 Bernard M. Wagner
1992 Kenneth Earle
1991 Kamal G. Ishak
1990 Nathan Kaufman
1989 Benjamin F. Trump
1988 Jack P. Strong
1987 F. Stephen Vogel
1986 Leland D. Stoddard
1985 Robert H. More
1984 Murray R. Abell
1983 Richard E. Palmer
1982 Jack M. Layton
1981 Benjamin Castleman
1980 Joshua L. Edwards
1979 Robert E. Stowell
1978 Chapman H. Binford
1977 Harold L. Stewart