The F.K. Mostofi Award The F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award was established in 1976 as a tribute to the long and distinguished service to the Academy given by Dr. Mostofi. The Award may be presented annually to a member of the Academy who has emulated Dr. Mostofi with outstanding service to USCAP and to the International Academy of Pathology.

The awardee is selected by the Board of Directors.

Steven D. Billings, MD

Cleveland Clinic, Lerner College of Medicine

2021 F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award

Dr. Billings completed his pathology residency at Indiana University School of Medicine in Indianapolis. Following residency, he completed fellowships in soft tissue pathology with Dr. Sharon Weiss at Emory University and dermatopathology with Dr. Antoinette Hood at Indiana University. Upon completion of his post-graduate studies, he joined the faculty at Indiana University School of Medicine, where he practiced for several years. In 2007 he joined the faculty at the Cleveland Clinic where he serves as a Professor of Pathology at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine, and as co-director of the dermatopathology section. He also staffs the soft tissue pathology service.

His research interests are in dermatopathology and soft tissue pathology, with a special emphasis on cutaneous soft tissue tumors. He has authored over 180 articles, 81 book chapters, and co-authored/edited 7 books.

He has a strong interest in education and gives numerous invited lectures and CME courses. He is on the editorial board of several journals, a peer reviewer for many more, and served on the Consensus Committee for the WHO Classification of Skin Tumours.

For USCAP, he has given numerous lectures, served on the Education Committee, the Board of Directors, and is currently on the Executive Committee as Treasurer. He was also instrumental in developing Interactive Microscopy at the Annual Meeting as well as the Palm Springs Interactive Center in his role as the first Chair of Interactive Microscopy for the Academy.

Previous Award Recipients

2021 Steven D. Billings
2020 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2019 Laura W. Lamps
2018 Stuart J. Schnitt
2017 John H. Sinard
2016 Julia A. Bridge
2015 Linda D. Ferrell
2014 Frederic G. Barr
2013 John Reid Goldblum
2012 Celeste Powers
2011 Sylvia L. Asa
2010 James Crawford
2010 John Eble
2009 Jeffrey L. Myers
2008 Richard Fraser
2007 Victor E. Reuter
2006 Richard J. Zarbo
2005 Ronald A. DeLellis
2004 Donald A. Antonioli
2003 Elaine S. jaffe
2002 Robert Pascal
2001 Virginia Livolsi
2000 Fred G. Silva
1999 William A. Gardner
1998 Costan W. berard
1997 Cecilia M. Fenoglio-Preiser
1996 Emanuel Rubin
1995 Harvey Goldman
1994 David Hardwick
1993 Bernard M. Wagner
1992 Kenneth Earle
1991 Kamal G. Ishak
1990 Nathan Kaufman
1989 Benjamin F. Trump
1988 Jack P. Strong
1987 F. Stephen Vogel
1986 Leland D. Stoddard
1985 Robert H. More
1984 Murray R. Abell
1983 Richard E. Palmer
1982 Jack M. Layton
1981 Benjamin Castleman
1980 Joshua L. Edwards
1979 Robert E. Stowell
1978 Chapman H. Binford
1977 Harold L. Stewart