The Maude Abbott Lecture is a prestigious scholarly and/or scientific presentation by a revered authority in pathology who has contributed, and continues to contribute, to the advancement of pathology in the areas of teaching, research and clinical practice. The selected individual must be capable of giving a lucid and erudite lecture relating to contemporary pathology and should be a member of USCAP. Designation as the Maude Abbott Lecturer represents one of the most important USCAP honors.

The lecturer is selected at the interim meeting, by vote of the Board of Directors, from three candidates proposed by the Executive Committee. The lecture is delivered at the Annual Meeting approximately 18 months later.

Bruce M. Wenig, MD

2021 Maude Abbott Lecture

Dr. Wenig is Chairman and Senior Member in the Department of Pathology at the Moffitt Cancer Center, Tampa, Florida (2016-current). He completed a residency in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology at the Mount Sinai Medical Center New York, NY (1981-85). Following completion of his residency training, he took fellowships in Surgical Pathology at Cedars Sinai Medical Center Los Angeles, CA (1985-86) and in Otorhinolaryngic Head and Neck Pathology at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology Washington, DC (1986-87). Subsequently, he became a Staff Pathologist in the Department of Otorhinolaryngic-Head and Neck Pathology, and Endocrine Pathology at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology where he remained for 11 years. During this period Dr. Wenig was appointed as the Chief, Division of Otolaryngic Pathology and then the Assistant Chairman. He served on active duty in the United States Navy with honorable discharge (1987-1994). In 1998 Dr. Wenig became the Director of Anatomic Pathology and Vice Chair for Anatomic Pathology in the Department of Pathology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine in the Bronx, NY. In 2001 he became the Director of Anatomic Pathology in the Department of Diagnostic Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at the Beth Israel Medical Center, and St. Luke’s and Roosevelt Hospitals, New York, NY, and subsequently was named Chairman of that department (2004-2016).

Dr. Wenig has published 130 articles, 85 books chapters and is co-editor or single author of 3 textbooks primarily in the areas of Head and Neck Pathology, and Endocrine Pathology. Dr. Wenig is an acknowledged national and international authority on Head and Neck Pathology, and Endocrine Pathology, and is an invited lecturer throughout the world.

Previous Honorees

2021 Bruce M. Wenig
2020 Christopher P. Crum
2019 David S. Klimstra
2018 Stanley R. Hamilton
2017 Peter A. Humphrey
2016 Stuart J. Schnitt
2015 Ricardo V. Lloyd
2014 Ralph Hruban
2013 Victor Reuter
2012 Robert Kurman
2011 Elaine Jaffe
2010 Henry Appleman
2009 Michael Gimbrome
2008 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2007 Virginia LiVolsi
2006 Anna-Luise Katzenstein
2005 David Page
2004 Aidan Carney
2003 James Downing
2002 Peter Isaacson
2001 Sharon Weiss
2000 Roger Haggitt
1999 Richard Kempson
1998 Louis P. Dehner
1997 Charles Hirsch
1996 Ramzi Cotran
1995 Juan Rosai
1994 Morris Karnovsky
1993 Ronald Dorfman
1992 Robert Scully
1991 Guido Majno
1990 Emanuel Rubin
1989 Leopold Koss
1988 Marilyn Farquhar
1987 Emmanuel Farber
1986 Paul Lacy
1985 Kenneth Brinkhous
1984 William Christopherson
1983 Robert Heptinstall
1982 Raffaele Lattes
1981 Lauren Ackerman
1980 Walter Sandritter