The Harvey Goldman Teaching Award was established in 2011 as a tribute to honor a dedicated, longstanding educator and mentor, Dr. Harvey Goldman. This award recognizes Dr. Goldman’s seminal contributions to the USCAP’s postgraduate educational and mentoring activities. The first awardees, Drs. Donald Antonioli and Henry Appleman were acknowledged in 2011 at the 100th Annual Centennial Meeting of USCAP in San Antonio, Texas.

The award is supported by a dedicated fund ($50,000) from the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA (Dr. Jeffrey Saffitz, Chair) and by a USCAP fund ($50,000) designated by the Board of Directors. This core fund ($100,000) shall remain untouched, and the interest will generate income to support the plaque and monetary award. The Academy shall administer the endowment, manage the investment of the funds, implement appropriate fund-raising activities and communicate with members of the Award Committee. The associated administrative costs for maintaining the endowment and selecting the award recipients will be the responsibility of the Academy.

This is an annual award presented at the awards program of the USCAP Annual Meeting.

Composition of the Committee:

  • The BIDMC Pathology Chair
  • The BIDMC Director of Anatomic Pathology (Committee Chair)
  • USCAP Executive Vice President
  • Current USCAP Education Committee Chair
  • The last two immediate past-USCAP Education Committee Chairs

Selection of Awardees:

  1. Applications for this award will not be solicited. Each member of the Goldman Award Committee will propose one or more names for consideration, and the vote by the Goldman Award Committee will be by majority and final.
  2. The recipient of this award will receive a plaque and a check for $1,000.

Arie Perry, MD

2022 Harvey Goldman Teaching Award

Arie Perry, MD is a Professor at the University of California in San Francisco, where he serves as the Director of Neuropathology and the Neuropathology Fellowship program.  He received his MD and residency training at UT Southwestern in Dallas, Texas, followed by surgical pathology, neuropathology, and molecular cytogenetics research fellowships at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN, where he worked closely with his mentor, the late Dr. Bernd Scheithauer.  His interests have focused mostly on classification, grading, and molecular characterization of both adult and pediatric brain tumors.  He has authored over 600 publications and participated as an editor for the WHO 2016 and 2021 (5th ed.) CNS tumor classification updates, as well as an author in seven of the 5th edition WHO classification schemes.  He has also served as a chief editor for Brain Pathology (official journal of the International Society of Neuropathology), the Practical Surgical Neuropathology textbook (2 editions), and Greenfield’s Neuropathology (2 editions).  Dr. Perry maintains an active consult service and is a frequently invited lecturer.  He also enjoys creative modes of teaching making use of his longstanding passion for music.  In this respect, he has been featured in several media stories for using “neuropathology songs” in medical education, including CD recordings and YouTube videos. USCAP has been his professional home since 1992, where he has previously enjoyed many roles, including Board of Directors member (2018-21), abstract reviewer, session moderator, companion society speaker, evening session panelist and moderator, short course faculty, molecular special course faculty, and publications committee member.

Previous Award Recipients

2021 Christopher P. Crum
2020 Gregory N. Fuller
2019 Stuart J. Schnitt
2018 John R. Goldblum
2017 Steven H. Swerdlow
2016 Linda Ferrell
2015 Victor E. Reuter
2014 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2013 Sharon K. Weiss
2012 Virginia Livolsi
2011 Henry Appleman
2011 Donald A. Antonioli