The Harvey Goldman Teaching Award was established in 2011 as a tribute to honor a dedicated, longstanding educator and mentor, Dr. Harvey Goldman. This award recognizes Dr. Goldman’s seminal contributions to the USCAP’s postgraduate educational and mentoring activities. The first awardees, Drs. Donald Antonioli and Henry Appleman were acknowledged in 2011 at the 100th Annual Centennial Meeting of USCAP in San Antonio, Texas.

The award is supported by a dedicated fund ($50,000) from the Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, MA (Dr. Jeffrey Saffitz, Chair) and by a USCAP fund ($50,000) designated by the Board of Directors. This core fund ($100,000) shall remain untouched, and the interest will generate income to support the plaque and monetary award. The Academy shall administer the endowment, manage the investment of the funds, implement appropriate fund-raising activities and communicate with members of the Award Committee. The associated administrative costs for maintaining the endowment and selecting the award recipients will be the responsibility of the Academy.

This is an annual award presented at the awards program of the USCAP Annual Meeting.

Gregory N. Fuller, MD, PhD

2020 Harvey Goldman Teaching Award

Dr. Fuller was born in Houston, Texas. He received his MD degree from Baylor College of Medicine and his PhD degree in Neuroscience from The University of Texas MD Anderson –UT Health Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences under the supervision of Dr. Richard C. Wiggins. He completed an Anatomic Pathology Residency and a Neuropathology Fellowship under the mentorship of Drs. Peter C. Burger and F. Stephen Vogel at Duke University, and worked in the Brain Tumor Research Laboratory of Dr. Darrell Bigner.

Dr. Fuller joined the faculty of The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in 1992 and rose through the ranks to become Chief Neuropathologist in 1998 and Professor of Pathology (Tenured) in 2003. He has an active research program centered on the molecular classification of brain tumors. Among his past accomplishments are the first application of transcriptome profiling and tissue microarray phenotyping to the investigation of the pathobiology and molecular subclassification of diffuse gliomas with Wei Zhang in 1998, early investigation of the regulatory role of REST / NRSF, a transcriptional repressor of neuronal differentiation genes, in medulloblastoma oncogenesis, with Sadhan Majumder, and the first glioma modeling studies on controlled in vivo oncogene expression using the combined transgenic/somatic gene transfer RCAS/tva system with Eric Holland.

Dr. Fuller is an Editorial Board member of 10 scientific journals and was President of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP) in 2011-12. He has published 341 peer-reviewed scientific research papers, with an h-index of 63 (Scopus database), 62 book chapters, including the Central Nervous System chapter in the forthcoming 5th edition of Histology for Pathologists (2019), and two textbooks: Practical Review of Neuropathology with Clay Goodman (Baylor College of Medicine) and Genomic and Molecular Neuro-Oncology with Wei Zhang (Wake Forest School of Medicine).

Dr. Fuller was a member of the World Health Organization (WHO) Working Groups that created the WHO 2007 4th edition and the WHO 2016 revised 4th edition of the Classification of Tumours of the Central Nervous System.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Stuart J. Schnitt
2018 John R. Goldblum
2017 Steven H. Swerdlow
2016 Linda Ferrell
2015 Victor E. Reuter
2014 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2013 Sharon K. Weiss
2012 Virginia Livolsi
2011 Henry Appleman
2011 Donald A. Antonioli