The F. Stephen Vogel Award was established by contributions to a fund created by his family and friends. It is to be awarded in recognition of an outstanding paper by a resident or fellow published in one of the Academy journals, Modern Pathology or Laboratory Investigation, during the twelve months preceding the application deadline.

The awardee must:

(1) be a USCAP member, in good standing, at least one year prior to receiving the award;

(2) possess an MD, or international equivalent, degree; and

(3) be a pathologist-in-training (resident or fellow) in a program accredited for training at the time the scientific investigation on which the article is based was initiated and substantially completed. Applicants should be the first author or submit documentation of a significant contribution to the paper.

On papers with multiple authors, only one author is eligible, and only one paper per author may be submitted. The prize will consist of a check for $1,000 and a certificate. Applicants should complete the application form online and electronically submit the form along with a PDF reprint (or preprint) of their manuscript and a PDF of the signed VERIFICATION OF ELIGIBILITY FORM, AVAILABLE HERE. The Vogel Award Committee will select the awardee.

Funds for travel are not included and the awardee does not have to present at the meeting.

The application window for USCAP Honors is now closed. 

Nya Nelson, MD, PhD

2023 F. Stephen Vogel Award

Nya Nelson, MD PhD is a pathologist at Seattle Children’s Hospital where she practices pediatric and molecular genetic pathology. Her research on congenital pulmonary airway malformations with her mentor Dr. Jennifer Pogoriler identified mosaic KRAS variants within these lesions and redefined them as a mosaic RASopathy that is typically limited to the lung. Through this work she developed a strong interest in the histologic and genetic features of pediatric mosaic disorders such as vascular anomalies and is continuing to pursue that interest through both her clinical work and research. She has published multiple manuscripts on topics including congenital pulmonary airway malformations, dyskeratosis congenita, and the use of ancillary tests to define more specific diagnoses.

Dr. Nelson received her BA in Biology-Chemistry from Scripps College. She then joined the Medical Scientist Training Program at Baylor College of Medicine, where her PhD in Molecular and Human Genetics focused on understanding the pathogenesis of dyskeratosis congenita. Her work as a graduate student in the laboratory of Dr. Alison Bertuch cemented her interest in the complex interplay between pediatric genetic disease and development, and inspired her to become a pediatric and molecular pathologist. Following receipt of her MD PhD, she joined the Anatomic and Clinical Pathology Residency Program at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania, where she served as chief resident. She then completed fellowships in Pediatric Pathology at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and Molecular Genetic Pathology at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania before joining Seattle Children’s Hospital in the summer of 2022.

Dr. Nelson has been the recipient of multiple awards, including a National Cancer Institute Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research service F30 Award, the Lotte Strauss Prize (2021) and Gordon F. Vawter Pathologist-in-Training Award (2019) from the Society of Pediatric Pathology, and the International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology Award for Best Poster at the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathologists Conference (2018).

Previous Award Recipients

2022 Yeon Bi Han
2021 Chen Yang
2020 David B. Chapel
2019 Kwun Wah Wen
2018 Anjelica Hodgson
2017 Matthew W. Rosenbaum
2016 Charlotte (C.F.) Kweldam
2015 Patrick J. Cimino
2014 Ghassan Allo
2013 Bojana Djordjevic
2012 Elizabeth Demicco
2011 Jose Gaal
2010 Ibrahim Batal
2009 Samantha L. Butler
2008 Jeremy Wallentine
2007 Donna E. Hansel
2006 Rohit Bhargava
2005 Dylan V. Miller
2004 Robert Pu
2003 Dinesh Rakheja
2002 Ilene B. Bayer-Garner
2001 Pei Hui
2000 Julie Teruya-Feldstei