The Board’s Distinguished Pathologist Award was established by the Board of Directors of USCAP for recognition of distinguished service in the development of the discipline of pathology. This award is presented to an individual who is recognized for making major contributions to pathology over the years.

These candidates are proposed by the Executive Committee and the Awardee is selected by the Board of Directors at the Interim Meeting for presentation at the Annual Meeting.

Linda D. Ferrell, MD

2020 USCAP Board’s Distinguished Pathologist

Dr. Ferrell trained in pathology at both the University of Kansas and the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). She joined the faculty at UCSF in 1981 and retired to Emerita status in June 2015.  She served as Distinguished Professor in Anatomic Pathology (Endowed Chair), as Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs in the Department of Anatomic Pathology and the Director of Surgical Pathology from 2000-2015.  She also served as Surgical Pathology Fellowship Director (2000-14) and was the Director of Liver/GI pathology Fellowship at UCSF from (2005-14).  She has been honored with multiple medical student and resident teaching awards at UCSF, and honored with the Mostofi Award (2015), The Harvey Goldman Teaching Award (2016), and Distinguished Pathologist Award (2020) from USCAP.  The Arthur Purdy Stout Society has also awarded her the President’s Award in 2017 and the Fred W. Stewart Memorial Sloan Kettering Award in 2019.   She has been invited to lecture at numerous US and international meetings, including USCAP, and has had numerous visiting professorships and lectureships. She has contributed to over 200 papers published in peer-reviewed journals and has written numerous chapters on liver pathology in major surgical pathology textbooks.  She is one of the three co-editors for the last four editions (Editions 5-8) of the MacSween’s Pathology of the Liver textbook, recognized as the premier text in this subspecialty.  She is also the lead editor of Liver Pathology, in the Consultant Pathology Series (Demos Publishers) which emphasizes difficult diagnostic problems in liver pathology. She is one of the founding members of the International Liver Pathology Study Group (ELVES).  She has been the President of USCAP and also served on the Education Committee, Executive Council, and in a variety of teaching roles.  She has also served as President of the Hans Popper Hepatopathology Society.  She has chaired two major educational courses for pathologists for multiple years, including the UCSF (33 years) and the California Society of Pathologists annual courses (8 years).  Dr. Ferrell still remains active academically and clinically, as well as in a mentoring role in her Emerita status. Her academic interests currently include primarily emphasis in the areas of liver tumors, particularly hepatic tumors (such as adenomas, focal nodular hyperplasia, dysplastic nodules, and hepatocellular carcinoma), fatty liver disease, and vascular-related liver lesions.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Elaine S. Jaffe
2018 Stacie E. Mills
2017 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2016 Thomas V. Colby
2015 Sharon W. Weiss
2014 Henry D. Appleman
2013 Krishnan Unni
2012 Steven G. Silverberg
2011 Stephen S. Sternberg
2010 Juan Rosai
2009 Louis P Dehner
2008 Bernard M. Wagner
2008 Nathan Kaufman
2007 Peter Burger
2006 Harvey Goldman
2005 Robert D. Collins
2005 J. Bruce Beckwith
2004 Kalman Kovacs
2004 Daria Haust
2003 Richard L. Kempson
2002 Robert Heptinstall
2002 William Hartmann
2001 Leopold Koss
2001 Margaret Billingham
2000 John H. Yardley
1999 David C. Dahlin
1998 Robert E. Scully
1997 Elson B. Helwig
1996 Raffaele Lattes
1995 Henry Rappaport
1994 Franz Enzinger
1993 Wallace H. Clark
1992 Emmanuel Farber
1991 Stanley L. Robbinson
1990 Arthur T. Hertig
1989 Earl P. Benditt
1988 Hans Popper