The Benjamin Castleman Award is granted for an outstanding paper in the field of human pathology published in English. Selections made by the Benjamin Castleman Award Committee will be based on the merit of the submitted paper, not on the entire career of the author. Please do not include additional supporting papers. Any optional information or letters from sponsors should be focused on the paper, not on the author’s qualifications. The 2024 award will be based on papers published during the twelve months preceding the application deadline. The subject may represent any topic in pathology, but must be directly relevant to human disease. On papers with multiple authors, only one author is eligible, and only one paper per author may be submitted.

The awardee must be a pathologist or a pathology resident or fellow who has not yet reached their 40th birthday at the time the paper is published.  Papers by pathology trainees are encouraged. The prize will consist of a check for $1,500 and a certificate. Funds for travel are not included and the awardee does not have to be present at the Annual Meeting.

Erolcan Sayar, MD

2024 Benjamin Castleman Award

Dr. Erolcan Sayar completed his medical studies at Akdeniz University Medical School, Turkey, in 2012, then concluded his residency in Anatomic Pathology at Gazi University Medical School, Turkey, in 2016. After that, he spent four years as a practicing diagnostic pathologist in a high-volume hospital in Turkey. His extensive clinical experience made him realize that pathology’s future lies in the in-depth molecular characterization of tumors. He is particularly interested in the clinical implementation of novel molecular diagnostic approaches.

Since 2021, he has been working in the laboratory of Dr. Michael C. Haffner as a postdoctoral research fellow in the Division of Human Biology at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center in Seattle, WA, where he focuses on the translational pathology of prostate cancer. In particular, he is involved in projects aimed at evaluating disease-specific biomarkers and novel therapeutics in tissues using novel cutting-edge technologies.

In the next phase of his career, he will be particularly focused on developing a strong translational research portfolio that extends from diagnostics to early therapeutics development. Dr. Sayar’s career thus far has been shaped by his involvement in several studies that had immediate translational impact, a result of the innovative and collegial research environment at Fred Hutchinson and the University of Washington. To date, he has published six peer-reviewed articles, with two as the first author, in his postdoctoral training.

His career goal is to establish himself as a successful academic physician-scientist in the field of prostate cancer molecular pathology and to develop novel therapies and tissue-based biomarkers for prostate cancer.

Previous Award Recipients

2023 Antonio Rodriguez-Calero
2022 Nicolas A. Giraldo
2021 Christian M. Schürch
2020 Jonathan C. Dudley
2019 Sanjay S. Patel
2018 Nicholas P. Reder
2017 Carlos A. Murga-Zamalloa
2016 Benjamin H. Durham
2015 Mark J. Kiel
2014 Valentina Nardi
2013 Abner Louissant
2012 Daniel Winer
2011 Anthony Gill/ Jiaqi Shi
2010 Adeboye Osunkoya
2009 Kirsten D. Mertz
2008 Laurence de Level
2007 Adebowale Joel Adeniran
2006 Arul M. Chinnaiyan
2005 Andrew P. Weng
2004 Anirban Maitra
2003 Jerome T. O’Connell
2002 David G. Huntsman
2001 Todd Kroll
2000 Daniel J. Brat
1999 Irina Lubensky
1998 Jeffrey K. Taubenberger
1997 Sarah S. Frankel
1996 Frederic G. Barr
1995 Marc Ladanyi
1994 Cheryl Willman
1993 Timothy McDonnell
1992 Giorgio Ingrahami
1991 Peter Humphrey
1990 Ivan Stamenkovic
1989 Stephen Peiper
1988 John Anastasi
1987 James Kurnick
1986 Lawrence Weiss
1985 Ann Thor
1984 George Murphy
1983 Renatao Iozzo
1982 William Beschorner
1981 Roger Warnke