The Benjamin Castleman Award is granted for an outstanding paper in the field of human pathology published in English. Selections made by the Benjamin Castleman Award Committee will be based on the merit of the submitted paper, not on the entire career of the author. Please do not include additional supporting papers. Any optional information or letters from sponsors should be focused on the paper, not on the author’s qualifications. The 2022 award will be based on papers published during the twelve months preceding the application deadline. The subject may represent any topic in pathology, but must be directly relevant to human disease. On papers with multiple authors, only one author is eligible, and only one paper per author may be submitted.

The Awardee must be a pathologist or a pathology resident or fellow who has not yet reached their 40th birthday at the time the paper is published. Papers by pathology trainees are encouraged. The prize will consist of a check for $1,500 and a certificate.

Christian M. Schürch, MD, PhD

2021 Benjamin Castleman Award

Dr. Schürch completed his medical studies at the University of Bern, Switzerland in 2007. He concurrently conducted his MD thesis in neuro-infectiology in Dr. Stephen Leib’s laboratory at the Institute of Infectious Diseases. Subsequently, he performed a PhD thesis in tumor immunology and cancer stem cell biology in Dr. Adrian Ochsenbein’s laboratory at the Department of Biomedical Research. In 2012, he started his training in general surgical pathology at the Institute of Pathology in Bern with Dr. Aurel Perren and in 2015 moved to the University Hospital of Tübingen, Germany for a fellowship in hematopathology with Dr. Falko Fend and Dr. Leticia Quintanilla-Martinez. In 2016, Dr. Schürch performed a fellowship in cytology and in 2017 he obtained his board certificate for general surgical pathology. In 2017, he joined the Garry P. Nolan laboratory at Stanford University for a postdoctoral fellowship to study cancer immunology using highly multiplexed tissue imaging technologies. Dr. Schürch has published 44 peer-reviewed articles, 12 of them as first/corresponding author, and is co-inventor on 2 patents (1 issued, 1 pending). His current main focus of research is in tumor immunology, the tumor microenvironment, hematopathology and novel tissue imaging technologies. In particular, he is interested in how the immune system interacts with tumors, how this can be characterized in clinical samples using highly multiplexed tissue imaging and computational analysis, and how the spatial information of immune cell-tumor cell interactions can be used to predict cancer immunotherapy response.

Dr. Schürch has been the recipient of a Swiss National MD/ PhD Scholarship (2007), a Hagmann Foundation Postdoctoral Scholarship (2010), a Cloëtta Foundation Clinical Research Scholarship (2014), a Swiss National Science Foundation Advanced Postdoctoral Scholarship (2016), and a Swiss National Science Foundation Postdoctoral Scholarship (2018). He is the recipient of numerous awards, including Best Ph.D. Thesis (2013), Hemmi Foundation Clinical Research Award (2013), Stowell-Orbison Certificate of Merit (2014), Charles Rodolphe Brupbacher Young Investigator Award (2015), Pfizer Research Award (2017), Lady Tata International Leukemia Award (2017), and an ASH Abstract Achievement Award (2018). In 2020, Dr. Schürch was nominated to participate in the 2021 inaugural Arthur L. Irving Family Foundation Cancer Immunology Symposium.

Previous Award Recipients

2021 Christian M. Schürch
2020 Jonathan C. Dudley
2019 Sanjay S. Patel
2018 Nicholas P. Reder
2017 Carlos A. Murga-Zamalloa
2016 Benjamin H. Durham
2015 Mark J. Kiel
2014 Valentina Nardi
2013 Abner Louissant
2012 Daniel Winer
2011 Anthony Gill/ Jiaqi Shi
2010 Adeboye Osunkoya
2009 Kirsten D. Mertz
2008 Laurence de Level
2007 Adebowale Joel Adeniran
2006 Arul M. Chinnaiyan
2005 Andrew P. Weng
2004 Anirban Maitra
2003 Jerome T. O’Connell
2002 David G. Huntsman
2001 Todd Kroll
2000 Daniel J. Brat
1999 Irina Lubensky
1998 Jeffrey K. Taubenberger
1997 Sarah S. Frankel
1996 Frederic G. Barr
1995 Marc Ladanyi
1994 Cheryl Willman
1993 Timothy McDonnell
1992 Giorgio Ingrahami
1991 Peter Humphrey
1990 Ivan Stamenkovic
1989 Stephen Peiper
1988 John Anastasi
1987 James Kurnick
1986 Lawrence Weiss
1985 Ann Thor
1984 George Murphy
1983 Renatao Iozzo
1982 William Beschorner
1981 Roger Warnke